Sunday, August 31, 2008

A. W. Tozer

An infinite God can give all of himself to each of His children. He does not distribute himself so that each may have a part, but to each one He gives all of Himself as fully as if there were no others".

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Friday, August 29, 2008

Bruce Cockburn

Some of us live and some of us die
Someday God's gonna tell us why
Open your hearts and grow with what life sends
We'll meet one day at the festival of friends

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Lin Yutang

"Besides the noble art of getting things done, there is the noble art of leaving things undone. The wisdom of life consists in the elimination of non-essentials."

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Loving Kindness Practice

Metta, or Loving Kindness Practice is a way consciously activating the energy of loving kindness.
An example of a Metta Meditation is:
"May I be filled with Loving Kindness.
May I be healthy.May I be filled with Joy.
May I be Free"
One can say it first for oneself, then for specific other people and then for all beings.

Monday, August 25, 2008

Jean Jacques Rousseau

"Falsehood has an infinity of combinations, but truth has only one mode of being".

Sunday, August 24, 2008

The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant.
We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.

Saturday, August 23, 2008

Friday, August 22, 2008

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, "Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?"
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God;
your playing small doesn't serve the world.

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Blaine Pascal

"Men never do evil so completely and with conviction as when they do it from a religous conviction".

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Food brings benefit for some hours, clothes for some months but wisdom lasts as long as the mind itself. It is the foundation of a better society.

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

T.S. Eliot

"Oh my soul, be prepared to meet him who knows how to ask questions".

Monday, August 18, 2008

Peace will not come out of a clash of arms but out of justice lived and done by unarmed nations in the face of odds.

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Albert Einstein

"Whoever sets himself up as the judge of truth and knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the God's".

Saturday, August 16, 2008

Change is not something that we should fear.
Rather, it is something that we should welcome.
For without change, nothing in this world would ever grow or blossom,
and no one in this world would ever move forward
to become the person they're meant to be.

Friday, August 15, 2008

Henry Van Dyke

"Even if we were to find another Eden, we would not be fit to enjoy it or stay in it forever".

Thursday, August 14, 2008

You must be the change that you wish to see in the world.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Bruce Cockburn

Lord of the Starfield, Ancient of Days
Universe maker, Here's a song in your praise
Voice of the nova, Smile of the dew
All of our yearnings only come home to you
Oh love that fires the sun keep me burning

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Monday, August 11, 2008

C.S. Lewis

"Let's hope that the human race never escapes earth to spread it's iniquity elsewhere".

Sunday, August 10, 2008

When one experiences truth,
the madness of finding fault with others disappears.

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Jacques Ellul

... no matter what God's powers may be, the first aspect of God is never that of the absoulute Master, the Almighty. It is that of the God who puts himself on the human level and limits himself".

Friday, August 8, 2008

Knowing others is intelligence.
Knowing yourself is true wisdom.

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Marilynne Robinson

"We routinely disqualify testimony that would plead for extenuation. That is, we are so persuaded by the rightness of our judgement as to invalidate evidence that does not confirm us in it. Nothing that deserves to be called truth could be arrived at by such means".

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Man did not weave the web of life,
he is merely a strand in it
Whatever he does to the web,
he does to himself.

Monday, August 4, 2008

Before you've practiced, the theory is useless.
After you've practiced, the theory is obvious.

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Saturday, August 2, 2008

All mental constructions are impermanent; They are of the nature to arise and pass away. Having arisen, they cease. Happiness is when they are at peace.

Friday, August 1, 2008